Something we believe makes our organization unique is the intentional constituencies represented on the Board. According to Merrick’s bylaws, there shall be at least twelve (12) Trustees on the Board representing the following constituencies:

  • Approximately one-third (1/3) will be advocates of clients receiving day services;
  • Approximately one-third (1/3) will be professionals working in human service programs; and
  • Approximately one-third (1/3) will be from the “community-at-large.”

All Trustees are entitled to vote and have equal rights and preferences. Each Trustee is elected to a three (3) year term and may serve a maximum of four consecutive terms. Terms are staggered so that approximately one-third (1/3) of the Trustee positions are open for election at each annual meeting. Trustees and Officers of the Board are not compensated in any manner.

Executive Director John Wayne Barker with Scott


Erik Levy, President
Crystal Saric-Fashant, Vice President
Philip Sanfilippo, Treasurer
Heather Monnens, Secretary
Diogo Reis, Past President
Becky Gilles
Dan Schneeman
Deb Degreeff
Jackie O’Connell
Jamey Austad
Joe Murphy
Karen DeYoung
Kristin Mahre
Maureen McGarry

Leadership Team

John Wayne Barker, Executive Director
Donna Bauer, Human Resources Director
Jim Chicone, Staff Psychologist
Pat Hanson, Operations Director
Dede Hauck, Quality Coordinator
Karen Herrera, Development and Communications Director
Robin Mallek, Program Director
Tammy Miller, Facility and Transportation Manger
Judy Vollbrecht, Financial Manager